Life with a side of chaos

1

Ever since I could remember, I have always wanted to work in an office that had a breathtaking view. In my head, I walked brisquely, wore a cutting edge and carried a Starbucks frappucino and I entered my glass office which had my name written on the front door in bold, black letters. My mom has heard my narration of my ideal workplace many times and each time, I add more details- corridors, room decor, artifacts and even pen stands. One thing stayed the same- the view.

This month, I did my wish fulfilled- partway at least. I am interning at pwc in the Tornado Tower, which, true to its name has a swirling pattern. I work in glass office on the 41st floor. It has a breathtaking view of the sunset and a spread out view of reflective buildings. It has always been a dream for me to work for at least one of the Big 4 and watching that dream come true with every passing day has been incredible. Whenever I put my blazer on, I feel an ironic sense of pride and humility.

My life followed a monotonous timetable until I was in the 12th grade. School, homework, tv, food, novels and sleep. Now, my life is a skewed definition of Chaos I have a million pages to read for university everyday  but at the same time, I feel the constant need to sleep. Mom’s food vs my unhealthy obsession for burgers and cheese fries. Gain internship experience for the summer vs Laze in bed all day. it might look easy but as the year moves forward, I find it harder and harder to find a balance in this chaos. I have an internship now but at the same time, I need to look for post graduate programs. When I go back home after work, all I want to do is crash face first onto my bed. At the same time, I long to spend time with my family and my friends.

Life is a continuous multiple choice. Sometimes I choose a), other times b) or even d) All of the above. During my summer holidays, I would always sleep until noon and laze around in my pyjamas all day. As soon as I joined university, I tried to use at least part of my summer productively. I realized that I loved lazing around but with 4 months of vacation, even my supposed infinite laziness reached its bounds.  I didn’t miss the sleepless nights of the semester but I missed the array of events and balancing academics and extracurriculars. I missed having something to do and watching people bustle about in classroom directions. I missed being part of a club and organizing events. As tiresome as it was, chaos was part of me. And I began to love it.

Sania

 

 

Leave a Reply

