Review: Summer shows

This summer was actually a pretty productive one and I’m kinda, sorta proud of myself. (Stay humble, Sania. Don’t brag about your summer)

Ok fine. Let’s just call them updates.

  1. I interned at Pricewaterhouse Coopers
  2. I went to Oman and Zanzibar
  3. I started a blog where I recorded all of the above
  4. I went to India
  5. I studied for my ACCA taxation exam. (Still studying, actually)
  6. Ate at loads of restaurants and got my family to try different things

Win!

Apart from all of the above, it was pretty much me left to myself and I got to watching a couple of shows. Don’t get me wrong, my life is dedicated to shows. I watch them all the time but these were the shows I started during the summer. (The plots are taken from Wikipedia)

young-and-hungry-first-season.27685.jpg

Show: Young and Hungry

Starring: Emily Osment, Jonathan Sadowski, Aimee Carrero, Rex Lee, Kym Whitley

Genre: Comedy, Drama, Romance

Plot: Feisty young food blogger Gabi is desperate for a job. When she finds out wealthy tech entrepreneur Josh needs a personal chef, she wants the position. But Gabi must prove herself to Josh’s aide, Elliot, who would rather have his boss hire a famous chef. Gabi gets help from best friend Sofia and Josh’s housekeeper, Yolanda, in order to turn the opportunity into employment … and maybe love.

What to watch it for: Emily Osment (Gabi), Jonathan Sadowski, Aimee Carrero’s dressing style, hilarious word play and puns

This show is funny, lighthearted and a typical summer watch especially if you like watching shorter duration shows- this one is 30 mins.

teen-wolf.jpg

Show: Teen wolf

Starring: Tyler Posey, Tyler Hoechlin, Holland Roden, Dylan O’Brien, Crystal Reed

Genre: Supernatural, Action

Plot: The high-school anonymity Scott McCall was trying to break free from couldn’t have happened in a more mysterious, complicated way. While walking in the woods one night Scott encounters a creature, is bitten in the side, and his life is forever changed. Is he a human or a werewolf? Or a little bit of both? Controlling the strange urges he now feels is the toughest part, and he’s afraid the urges could end up controlling him. Will the bite be a gift or a curse, especially as it relates to the mischievous Allison, whom Scott can’t get enough of?

What to watch it for: Dylan O’Brien’s (Stiles’s) amazing wordplay, Tyler Posey’s (Scott) general adorableness, Tyler Hoeclin (Derek) having to save everyone all the time (probably the most underrated character on the show)

I watched the first few episodes of vampire diaries and wasn’t really into it. When Teen Wolf popped up on my Twitter feed, I decided to watch it. It is really addicting and the action is pretty good. The best part was the fact that they were able to blend romance with action in a non over the top way. I’m also probably in general more of a werewolf person  that a vampire one.

url.jpg

Show: Mom

Starring: Anna Faris, Allison Janey

Genre: Comedy

Plot: Single mom Christy has her hands full with two children, Violet and Roscoe, and maintaining newfound sobriety, when her passive-aggressive, recovering-alcoholic mother re-enters the picture, brimming with criticisms about Christy’s life. As the daughter works to be the best mother she can and to overcome mistakes she made, she must also navigate dysfunctional relationships with romantic interests, and with her irresponsible ex-husband, Baxter. Despite the uphill battle, Christy tries to remain positive and stay on a path to help her reach her goals.

What to watch it for: Anna Faris, Allison Janney

I started watching this of my sister’s recommendation. I didn’t really expect me to finish the show but that is exactly what  I did. All seasons in 4 days if I recall correctly. This show is about 2 moms but it is SO relatable and hilarious that I can’t stop raving about it and have been recommending it to my friends. Must watch. (I’m available to any discussions)

imgres.jpg

Show: Mr. Robot

Starring: Rami Malek

Genre: Drama, Thriller

Plot: Young, anti-social computer programmer Elliot works as a cybersecurity engineer during the day, but at night he is a vigilante hacker. He is recruited by the mysterious leader of an underground group of hackers to join their organization. Elliot’s task? Help bring down corporate America, including the company he is paid to protect, which presents him with a moral dilemma. Although he works for a corporation, his personal beliefs make it hard to resist the urge to take down the heads of multinational companies that he believes are running — and ruining — the world.

 What to watch it for: Rami Malek (WHO JUST WON AN EMMY!), the episode titles
This one is completely different from all the other shows that I ended up watching in the summer to relax and unwind. This was more adrenaline inducing, jump cut thriller that makes you think about things. The main character does not have a Facebook account in order to protect his privacy which everyone finds really weird but he goes on to explore (and expose) the evil corporates taking over society.
None of these shows disappointed me. All of them lived up to my expectations and I can’t wait to watch more seasons.
Sania

Leave a Reply

